Curriculum » Religion


Religion Curriculum

Pony and Kindergarten: God is love and gave us the gift of the world and all things n it. Learn the Sign of the Cross and the Angel of God.

Grade 1: God created each person to live in a caring and loving environment. Jesus is God’s Son who died and rose for us. Learn the sign of the Cross, Our Father, and Hail Mary.

Grade 2: Through the study of Jesus’ life, the sacraments of reconciliation and Eucharist are studied. Review of basic prayers and learn the Act of Contrition.

Grade 3: Jesus, our friend, invites us to teach others about our Church. Review prayers; learn the Apostles Creed, Stations of the Cross, and the Rosary.

Grade 4: Through the study of the Ten Commandments, we learn how to love others. Review prayers; learn the Angelus; learn the Corporal and Spiritual works of Mercy.

The Ten Commandments

1. I am the Lord your God: you shall not have strange
gods before me.
2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God
in vain.
3. Remember to keep holy the Lord’s Day.
4. Honor your father and your mother.
5. You shall not kill.
6. You shall not commit adultery.
7. You shall not steal.
8. You shall not bear false witness against your
9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.
10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.

Corporal Works of Mercy
Feed the hungry
Give drink to the thirsty
Clothe the naked
Visit the imprisoned
Shelter the homeless
Visit the sick
Bury the dead

Spiritual Works of Mercy
Admonish the sinner
Instruct the ignorant
Counsel the doubtful
Comfort the sorrowful
Bear wrongs patiently
Forgive all injuries
Pray for the living and the dead

Grade 5: We meet Jesus in the seven sacraments. Learn the Beatitudes and the Liturgical Year. Review prayers; learn the Hail, Holy Queen, and the Nicene Creed.

The Seven Sacraments
Sacrament of Reconciliation (Penance)
Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick
Holy Orders

The Beatitudes
Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are they who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek
for they will inherit the land.
Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for
righteousness, for they will be satisfied.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the clean of heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake
of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 5:3-10

Grade 6: Through the study of the bible, we explore the Old Testament and Jesus’ roots in the Jewish community. Review prayers, learn the Memorare.

Grade 7: Jesus Christ as seen from the view of the four Gospels

Grade 8: We examine how our Catholic faith can lead us to happiness through a look the topic of Morality. Students will participate in a structured retreat experience.